Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above argument, it is stated that Omega University has implemented a new procedure for students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of their professors and since then professors have begun to give the students higher grades in their classes, because of which employers have begun to believe that these grades are not accurate and hence students are losing on job opportunities. Omega University believes that if they want to enable their graduates to secure better jobs, the university should terminate student evaluation of professors. However, before directly coming to this conclusion there are a lot of factors which need to be evaluated and understood to make the right decision.

As a first step, more insight has to be gained on the new procedure which encourages students to evaluate teaching effectiveness of all their professors. It is important to understand what exactly is this procedure and how students can evaluate the teaching effectiveness of professors based on it. By gaining this insight, a study has to be done to analyze the correlation between the procedure and the students being assigned higher marks in class. It is possible that the procedure for evaluation has absolutely no relation with students gaining higher marks in class.

Furthermore, the argument states that the overall student grade averages at Omega University have risen by 30 percent. The argument fails to take into account the fact that it can also be due to students performing better than before or professors more efficiently imparting knowledge to students. It can also be due to the fact that the university has replaced the professors which has led to increased understanding of the subjects among students which in turn has resulted in students delivering better results during their examinations now. To state that students are gaining higher marks in tests just because of the new procedure is an inadequate statement and much more evidence and insight is needed to state this.

Moreover, the argument states that the university want to terminate the new procedure so that employment opportunities for students increase. This argument fails to take into account that there might be many other factors that recruiters believe that Alpha University students are better for their job roles than Omega University students. For example, Alpha University students might be performing better in interviews and might be having the capability to demonstrate their knowledge in person as well as they can do on paper. It is highly possible that students from Omega University are not able to demonstrate their knowledge during interviews and hence employers tend to believe that the students are incapable of securing these high grades.

Based on the above mentioned points, it is fair to conclude that more evidence is needed to evaluate if Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors for it's students to secure better jobs. If sufficient information regarding the process of evaluation, professors and students performance in job interviews is provided it will then be possible to conclude if termination of the new procedure will help the students in securing better employment or not.