A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A nation which requires all of the students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college sounds good and beneficial, as all of the students will be on the same page and at the same level of knowledge before they enter college. However, there are a lot of different factors which come into play before we can directly assume that this will be the best decision for the students of a country.

According to the above stated policy all the students will be studying the same courses and essentially the same content irrespective of their board or state. An important thing to consider here is do all the students essentially want to study the same content? Are there students who want to study something particular? Are there students who want to pursue a specific career for sure and would like to study subjects tailored or devised for that career only? If there is a common nationwide curriculum for all students, many of the students who would like to learn something specific or specialize in a particular field might not get the opportunity to do so. There are a myriad of students who are interested in studying certain subjects such as some might want to learn in depth about computers, some might want to deep dive into history and some might want to study more of literature rather than maths or science. Every student is different and each one has different interests. If all the students are made to study the same subjects nationwide it restricts their growth in a particular field in which they wish to excel. As it is not feasible to deep dive into every subject if the curriculum is common nationwide, this ultimately hinders the accessibility of knowledge for a student who wishes to gain deeper insight something specific rather than having general knowledge about all subjects.

Another important point to consider here is that if the curriculum is common nationwide, this means that across all states students will be studying the same content. However, in countries such as India, where each state has a different culture and language, a common curriculum might not be feasible after all. As every state has a different language, students learn and excel in that particular language. Also, as culture is widely different across states, which means that employement opportunities are also different, students look forward to choosing subjects which might benefit them and help them acquire employement in their state. For example, if a particular state has manufacturing as its most common occupation, students look forward to taking more subjects related to operations and manufacturing rather than learning about subjects such as literature and history.

A common curriculum will only hinder the growth of a student who wishes to pursue a particular field and learn more about it. For a student, to gain deep insight into a particular field, might be more beneficial than gaining little knowledge about every field. If students are forced to study subjects they have absolutely no interest in, it can lead to effects such as boredom, and withdrawl from school. Hence, students should be given the autonomy to choose their subjects and learn more about the field they are interested in at school level rather than prescribing a common national curriculum and forcing students to study subjects they have absolutely no interest in. This in turn will benefit the nation as well, as it will have a youth with diverse backgrounds and specializations, rather than all having the same common knowledge.