Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I agree with the reasoning that while anyone can publish political opinions online, there is no quality or fact checking that can be done, which might lead to low quality standards. But to directly claim that online blogging has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States is a little too extreme. With the emergence of online blogging, many people whose voices and thoughts were previously unheard or wasn't able to reach the right audience is now accessible by most of the population. As politics has always been a sensitive topic, people were sceptical about voicing their thoughts openly. They feel much more comfortable now posting these online as this can be done anonymously. This has allowed the audience to gauge views which were previously inaccessible to them.

Adding to this point, previously, newspapers with expensive subscription such as The New York Times, The Washington Post, US Daily etcetera. were inaccessible to the population who could not afford these, but now many of these popular newspapers publish free articles online which can be accessed by almost everyone. This has led to increased reach and spreading of knowledge about current events to almost all parts of the population in United States.

Another important point to consider is that politicians are known to have a significant influence and control over print media and popular newspapers, which might lead to actual events being concealed deliberately and being replaced with false ones. On an online platform, this control is weakened and almost non-existent as the people can freely voice their opinions and report true events, which increases the legitimation of the content. As many of these articles are written by ordinary people in society, people are able to connect to their views and understand them better.

While ease of access might lead to more uninformed opinions being published, the emergence of the blogosphere has encouraged people to actively participate in discussions regarding political events rather than just consuming or reading about news which is published in papers. Hence it is invalid to make a direct claim that emergence of online blogosphere public discourse.