Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author recommends that schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects for adulthood. I strongly agree with the recommendation and the following points will give a clearer view of my opinion.

School is like a second home to us throughout our childhood because we spend almost equal amount of time in school when we are awake as we do at our home. It is a place where we learn majority of the things that we know and the school is responsible for shaping the minds of people and making them ready for the real world. As soon as you leave school, you will no longer be in a sheltered environment where you are dependent on your parents for everything, you will be facing the real world as young adult and will be fighting your own battles. To be able to face this world in front of you, you need to have real life skills, real life experience. Skills that help you solve real world problems, where you need to consider practicality of the solutions and need to figure out what is the best course of action for you. These are the non-academic aspects of adulthood that you need to be prepared for and what can be a better place to learn these skills than your second home.

As an adult, you face number of new challenges that you hadn't even thought of. To overcome these challenges in a successful way, you need to know how to deal with situations. Overall development of students is a very essential aspect of school education where the students are prepared to face the real world. Along with academics, extra curricular activities are very important. A student who has been taught in the classroom his whole life will not be able to deal with a lot of situations in real life. Whereas if a student who is exposed to the real world through field visits, given real life problems to solve, etc he will be better equipped with knowledge and more importantly experience to deal with situations in his life. He would have seen and gained experience through practical knowledge rather than just sitting in a classroom and learning.

I agree that academics is surely very important as a foundational base for students who want to pursue higher studies and that academics cannot be compromised on in a lot of aspects. But these higher studies at the universities will be providing them with field specific knowledge that they have chose to pursue. The only place that they can learn and prepare themselves for the non-academic aspects of adulthood is before they enter adulthood when they are still in school.

Thus I strongly agree with the author's recommendation that schools should do more to prepare the students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood as even after they pursue higher education or get degrees, they have to live on their own and be independent and for that they need to be better prepared.