The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above evidence, the author assumes that the decrease in the customers in Central Plaza is due to the increased popularity of skateboarding. The reason that the author assumes this is due to increased cases of vandalism along with the increased number of skateboard users in the central plaza. Hence to increase the number of shoppers in the central plaza, skateboarding should be prohibited in the central plaza. However, this recommendation is fallacious and it very likely may not have the intended results.

Primarily, there is no evidence pointing to the decrease in the number of shoppers in the central plaza is due to the increased number of skateboarders. No proof has been provided, no surveys have been taken and there haven't even been any complaints by the shoppers of the central plaza that the skateboarders are a nuissance to them. So simply assuming that the skateboarders are the root of the problem will not prove fruitful. The decrease in the number of shoppers may be because of a different reason altogether like the public not wanting to physically go and shop anymore. The increased current trend of online shopping allows the customers to shop from the comfort of their home and this can very well be the reason of the decreased number of shoppers.

As for the dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism, there has been no proof that the skateboarders were responsible for them. Without any proofs or evidences, assuming that the skateboarders are responsible for them will not serve the purpose of finding the root problem of the decreased number os shoppers in the central plaza. Even if it was to be assumed that the skateboarders were responsible for the vandalism, and hence even if skateboarding was to be prohibited in the central plaza, there is no guarantee that that will increase the number of shoppers.

Although, the skateboarders might prove to be a nuisance to the shoppers on foot in the central plaza as there is an increased chances of accidents happening when the skateboarders are using the same place for skateboarding as the pedestrians are using while they are shopping.

Thus, the relation drawn between the decreased number of shoppers in the central plaza, the increased number of skateboarders and the increased amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza although plausible, is not cogent enough and hence the conclusion derived on it as a solution to the decreased number of shoppers in the central plaza is fallacious and may to lead to the expected result.