The following report appeared in the newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors.

"A novel therapy has come to our attention that promises to significantly decrease the incidence of dementia in our aging community. According to a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and funded by the National Institute on Aging, while many physical activities like playing tennis or golf, swimming, bicycling, dancing, and walking for exercise provided cardiovascular benefits for seniors, only one physical activity offered protection against dementia: that was frequent dancing. At GoldenAge we currently provide residents with extensive recreational facilities. These include tennis courts, a fitness center, and lap pools in each senior apartment complex. However, we have no dance studio space at GoldenAge, nor any social dance programs.

Clearly, social dancing can prevent or delay the onset of dementia. Since the onset of dementia inevitably signals the imminent move of residents from our independent living apartments to the more heavily staffed and therefore more costly to operate assisted living quarters, we recommend the establishment of social dance programs at all GoldenAge senior residences—as a cost-effective, positive way to ward off dementia and enable our residents to remain in their independent living quarters."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author puts fortha an argument in which he recommends the establishment of social dance programs at all GoldenAge senior residences - as a cost effective and positive way to ward off dementia. He makes this recommendation on the basis of the 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine funded by the National Institute on Aging. Although the author's heart might be in the right place, the argument put forth by the author appears to be specious and can be very easily proven false if specific evidence is not provided. The following points will give a better idea of what this evidence is.

The author has made the recommendation on the basis of a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine funded by the National Institute on Aging. The study states that while many physical activities provided cardiovascular benefits, only one physical activity offered protection against dementia: that was frequent dancing. But the author fails to provide any kind of statistical evidence of this study which can prove that a good deal of people can be prevented from dementia by frequent dancing. Statistical facts like what percentage of people can prevent or delay dementia by frequent dancing are missing from the argument. If the success rate of this study is really good, then obviously the study will prove to be a benefit, but if not and although the facts are true that frequent dancing can prevent or delay dementia but the chances of that happening are only one in a thousand, then the feasibility of this recommendation should also be taken into consideration. The author has also failed to provide any references to the implementation of this study and if it proved successful or not.

Secondly, the author has not provided any evidence that the residents at GoldenAge have an affinity for regular dancing. No one can force anyone to do anything. And so if the residents of GoldenAge do not like to dance on a regular basis then the establishment of social dance programs will prove useless. Apart from that, not every one of the seniors residing at GoldenAge will have a possibility of getting dementia and without any evidence from family history or medical indicators of dementia, the total number of people who are susceptible to dementia out of all the residents at GoldenAge is also nowhere mentioned. Without this information, we cannot determine the necessity of establishing social dance programs and hence this also puts the feasibility of the dance programs into question.

Furthermore, the author has not provided any information about the seniors residing at GoldenAge. Even if the people who were susceptible to dementia were high and the study was also feasible, we have to consider that dancing is a physical activity that all the seniors may not be able to perform. Seniors who can, unfortunately, no longer walk or move about, or are on complete bedrest will naturally not be participating in the social dancing. Without the knowledge of the number of residents at GoldenAge that are fit to dance, the dance program may or may not prove feasible.

In conclusion, the author's recommendation is definitely for a good cause but the author has not provided enough evidence to determine that the recommendation is cogent.