Learning for learning's sake is an outdated concept. Today, education must serve an ulterior purpose and be directed towards clear goals

The author states that learning for learning's sake is an outdated concept and that today, education must serve an ulterior purpose and be directed towards clear goals. I disagree with this statement as I believe the primary purpose of education is to give people enough knowledge to find their footing in the world. The following points will elucidate my stance on the topic.

As mentioned above, I believe that the basic education for everyone should not be goal oriented. There need to be basic things that we learn to just learn them, not for the purpose of fulfilling some goal. And not only basic education, there are lots of things in life that we learn just because we are interested in it, not because we feel the necessity to learn them. The simplest example of this is our hobbies. While growing up and even now, we have cultivated numerous hobbies - things we like to do for recreational activities- that may have no impact on any of our other professional goals, but we do them just because we like it. We learned these hobbies not as a part of some ulterior goal, but just for our pleasure.

Moreover, it is very true that not all of us are crystal clear on our goals. Not all of us have figured out what we want to do in life. In such a case, when we have no definite goals, directing all of our education and resources on tentative goals will just prove to be futile. If we want to explore and we don't want to confine ourselves to a specific goal, then we cannot confine our education as well. Apart from this, if we are not clear on a specific goal, we cannot force ourselves to like the goals that are in front of us. We may end up working towards them but we may also end up unsatisfied as we didn't get to explore first and decide what we want to do.

Although I have to agree, that for some people, their goals in life are pretty clear and they have a good understanding of what they want to achieve. For such people goal oriented education is quite fruitful as they get to focus on the specific things that they want to learn and the things that they need in order to become industry ready and to be successful in their fields. I do agree that higher education needs to be a little goal oriented to facilitate the education of the students clear on their goals, but it should not be a compulsion for every student to have a goal. Primary education however should only focus on teaching the kids basics and giving them sufficient knowledge of all the fields so that they can make a well informed, conscious decision about what they want to learn further.

In conclusion, I agree that goal oriented education is important and can prove beneficial in some scenarios but it should not be a compulsion for everyone as some people may want to learn just for learning's sake only.