Since Herald’s Hardware began advertising on the radio, its revenues have increased by 13%. This is obvious evidence that advertising on the radio will make your business more profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss the soundness of the author’s claim. Be sure to address any information that would strengthen or weaken the argument.

The author states that it is obvious evidence that advertising on the radios will make your business more profitable. The author claims so because of the increase in revenue of Herald's Hardware ever since it began advertising on the radio. But the author's conclusion is drawn on a number of assumptions and with the absence of facts, the conclusion that the author has arrived at can prove to be fallacious. The following points will give a clearer view of the obvious assumptions that the author has made.

Firstly, the author has drawn his conclusion on the basis of only one company that is Herald's Hardware. Arriving at the conclusion by considering only one example can be very risky as there can be a number of other reasons why Herald's Hardware has a flourishing business. If the author had arrived at this conclusion by considering a number of companies of not only hardware but of other businesses as well, then the conclusion can be considered sound.

Secondly, the author has not provided enough evidence regarding the reasons behind the 13% increase in the revenues of Herald's Hardware. The author has not specified about any other advertisements that Herald's Hardware has done along with the radio promotion. It can very well be that the other form of advertisement is the rason behind the rise in the revenue. The author has also not specified if Herald's Hardware had made any other changes to their product like incrasing the quality of their product or changes like renovating the shops and showrooms to attract more customers or even increase or decrease the price of their products. The changes may as well could've affected the revenue of the company and not only radio advertisements.

Also, the author has mentioned that there was an increase in the revenue of Herald's Hardware but he has not mentioned the time period for that increase. The 13% increase could have been over one year, five years, ten years or fifty years. And if the increase is over a long period of time then it cannot be attributed to radio advertisement alone. Apart from this if the increase in revenue is due to the increase in customers, then the author hasn't mentioned how many of these customers are new and have been attracted due to the radio advertisements. The increase in revenue can simply be because of the increase in business due to a number of reasons like increased rate of home renovations, incresed rate of new buildings being constructed, etc.

In conclusion, the author has not provided sufficient evidence to support his conclusion and this evidence can be pivotal in determining the soundness of the author's claim.