Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The claim states that in order for small businesses to thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matter. I agree with this claim as I believe that in order for small businesses to thrive, they need to be able to explore on their own without excessive government interference. The following points will give a clearer idea of my stance.

If it's a small business then it is obviously something that been started locally and the scope of the business is quite limited. So it afftects a lesser number of people. And if this is the case, then I believe that government intervention should be as little as possible because these businesses are as it is running on minimal profits and minimal resources. On top of that, if we were to include the excessive gorvernment involvement then that would just add to the already long list of challenges that the small businesses face.

If the government rules and regulations for small businesses are very constricting, then there will be no room for these businesses to find their footing and to thrive. They will have no room to explore various avenues in their respective businesses and that may lead to discouragement of people wishing to start new businesses. For example if the government puts a restriction on the selling price of a certain product and the rule states that the product not be sold for more than the maximum allowed price, then the small businesses that manufacture/sell that product might find themselves in a difficult situation. As we all know, that any item, when mass produced, will cost lower than when the production scale is smaller. Since the small businesses will obviously have a smaller productions, they are as it is not making as much profit as the mass producers and on top of that if the restriction on the price is imposed, then to meet the government demands as well to make a profit in the business, the small business owners might be forced to compromise on the quality of the product. And obviously buyers will give preference to quality when the two similar prducts are available at the same price. This may end up as a very huge disadvantage to the small businesses.

Although, I have to agree that government involvement can at times prove to be beneficial for small businesses when the government guidelines and rules and regulations prove beneficial to not only the businesses but also to the people. Like in the above example given, if the said product was a basic necessity product like cold medicine then the restriction may even prove useful as even the business is small, it cannot outrageously price something as common as cold medicine which is also a health necessity.

Thus I agree that in some necessary situations, government involvement can be necessary but majorly in order to help small businesses to thrive, government should play a minimal as far as possible.