The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

From the above statements the author concludes that if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty and not Fitch Realty. The author arrives on all these conclusions through a series of assumptions based on a few facts. But these assumptions may not prove to be true and if not, then the conclusion derived by the author fails to hold any credibility.

Firstly, the author states that the number of real estate agents of Adams Realty is higher than that if Fitch Realty and also many of the agents of Fitch Realty work only part time. By this the author assumes that Adams Realty is superior than Fitch Realty. But it is no where stated that the quality of workers working at Adams Realty is greater than those working at Fitch Realty. There may be more number of workers atAdams Realty but the quality of workers, the amount of work the put in, how hard working they are, are all factors that greatly affect the conclusionof which firm is the superior one.

Secondly, the author talks about the revenue generated by both the firms and states that since Adams Realty generates a greater revenue than Fitch Realty, it is a superior firm. But while reaching this conclusion, the author fails to acknowledge the fact that the number of workers working in Fitch is lesser than that of Adams and naturally when the firm is smaller, the revenue generated by the firm will also be lesser than that of the bigger firms with a higher work force. And this may not be the only reason why the firm generates a lesser revenue. As mentioned earlier, there is no comparision based on the quality of service that they offer the customers and it may very well be that Fitch Realty provide the customers with much better rates fortheir houses with lesser profit margins for themselves and hence their revenue is less as compared to a bigger firm like Adams Realty.

The author also arrives at the conclusion of which firm is superior on the basis of personal experience. Although personal experience is always very important than theoretical numbers and statistics, the experience that the author derives the conclusion from is not entirely valid since the experience that the author had with Fitch Realty was ten years ago and the one with Adams was only last year. There are countless factors that could have changed over the past ten years which affect the conclusion of deciding a superior firm. The selling market, the condition of the houses that the author sold, the price of the houses, the buying market are just a few of the factors. The situation could've been completely different when the author sold both the houses ten years apart and hence comparing them to arrive at a decision for today may not lead to the expected result.

Thus, I would like to conclude by saying that Adams Realty may be a better firm that Fitch Realty but the reasons provided by the author to arrive at that decision are fallacious and hence the conclusion drawn on the basis of them may lack credebility altogether.