For a society to truly flourish, dissent should be encouraged.

The author states that for a society to truly flourish, dissent should be encouraged and I agree with the author on this as I believe that everyone should be given the right to voice their opinion as that is what will lead to a fair society. The following points will elucidate my stance on this topic.

Dissent means that there is a difference of opinion occuring. Diferrence of opinion means that that the people of the society have different ideas about a particular topic. These different ideas should always be voiced and should be taken into consideration while taking any decision these decisions affect the entire society as a whole. Moreover, I believe in equality and I believe that in order to maintain this equality in the society, every person should have the right to speak for themselves and should be able to put forth their thoughts.

As mentioned earlier, any kind of decisions or changes that are made in the society, affect the entire society and hence everyone's opinion must matter. Dissent arises because people have a difference of opinion. The decision that affect the society as a whole should be made by taking into consideration what will benefit the society the most. When everyone's opinions are considered, it helps the leaders understand the problems faced by the society and they can take decisions to fix these problems accordingly. But dissent is not only beneficial for solving problems, for a society to flourish, a number of decisions have to be taken regarding a wide range of topics like econimoc development, infrastructure development, employment, etc. Dissent can help in understanding the public stance on any of these areas as well. For example, if the government is deliberating about constructing a community center by demolishing a park in the society, thene there obviously will be people who will be in favor of the construction and there will be people against the construction. Some people might want the park to remain as it is the last remaining parks of the town, and others want the community center because they want increased community engagement. In such a situation, dissent will obviously arise. But it will help the government understand how many people want the park and how many people want the community center and along with this they can also put forward any other reason for them supporting a particular decision. Thus it will help the government make an informed decision that is in favor of majority of the people and also provide alternate solutions for people against the decision.

That being said, I have to agree that at times, too must dissent on all the matters leads to a cacophonous society. Sometimes the quarrels can increase to a great extent and this can lead to indecision. This may result in stemming the growth of the society. But announcing decisions and discouraging dissent will not work. As differences are always going to be there, what needs to be done is overcoming these differences through compromise and decisions acceptable to all.

In conclusion, I highly agree that dissent should be encouraged for a society to truly flourish as that is what gives the government an idea of the needs and opinions of it's constituents and hence they can work accordingly to fulfil them.