The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical to our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum provided, the author has reached the conclusion of discontinuing the emphasis on Latino and world music because of the complaints received from the long-term listeners and also because of an editorial in the local newspaper critical to their shift in programming. But the argument put forward by the author is specious and hence the conclusion that the author has arrived on based on the argument can prove to faulty. The following points will discuss the specific evidence that will be needed to judge the validity of the argument.

The first concern of the author is regarding the complaints from the many long-term supporters of the station about what they describe as an un-American bias of the program. But what the author fails to notice is that the complaints have been coming only in the recent months whereas the changes to broaden the supporter base were brought about a year ago. There is no evidence provided that the complaints are regarding the allocation of more time to the Latino and world music. The complaints could be about any other changes that have been made in some other program.

The author also mentions the editorial in a local newspaper that was critical to the shift in programming which proves to be a concern. But the author fails to mention the nature of the article and whether it was critical about the same program where more time has been allocated to the Latino and world music or about any other changes brought about on the radio channel. Apart from this, the author doesnt mention that the complaints from long-term supporters or the critical editorial were about more time being allocated to Latino and world music. They could very well be about something else that the long-term supporters are unhappy about.

Apart from this, the author has reached the conclusion as a solution to the problem of losing listener-supporters but the author has not provided with any evidence that suggests that the radio station has infact lost any listener-supporters. And even if the radio channel has lost a few listener-supporters, but it may have gained many more than it has lost, as it intended to, because of the changes made in the program of allocating more time to Latino and world music. In such a case, discontinuing the emphasis on Latino and world music may result in the radio channel losing more listeners.

Thus, the argument put forth by the author to justify the conclusion drawn is faulty. Without the proper evidence and proof the argument lacks vitality and this evidence is required to prove if the argument is cogent or not.