The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a listener-supported public radio station.

"For the past year, as part of an effort to broaden our supporter base, our Folk on the Air program has allocated less time to traditional American folk music and more time to Latino music and world music. In recent months, many long-term supporters of our station have written to complain about what they describe as the un-American bias of the program. In addition, the local newspaper has published a recent editorial critical to our shift in programming. Therefore, in order to forestall any further adverse publicity for the station and to avoid the loss of additional listener-supporters, we should discontinue our current emphasis on Latino and world music and restore the time devoted to traditional American folk music to its former level."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recent memorandum from the business manager of a radio station , he stated to discontinue the emphasis given to the Latino music in order to avoid the criticism by the supporters. However, he didn't mentioned explicitly about the type and number of criticism and also made many groundless assumptions which are not credible. Similarly, the premise is incomplete to come to such conclusion.

The manager claimed to discontinue the emphasis but didn't considered any facts about the effect on broadening supporters which was the primary reason for the focusing on Latino music. In addition he didn't mentioned clearly about the no. of complains that were against the program, and also didn't considered the view of the supporters who Latino music. So, further analysis is needed before reaching the decision.

Similarly, he mentioned that the local newspaper's view about the program shifting; But didn't mentioned whether there are other newspapers who may love the program shift. Therefore, further survey is required before any implementation of the new program shifting.

Moreover, the un-American biased is stated in the memorandum, but isn't explained how it is un-American. It needs to be made clear prior to the further action.

In sum, the manager's statement regarding the program shifting to previous type cannot be accepted. The assumptions are groundless and the research is incomplete. So, an exhaustive study is required prior to reaching conclusion.