Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own and explain your reasoning for your position. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address both views presented.

I personally believe that competition does infact, drive young athletes to perform at their best. The reasons behind this position of mine should be elucidated by the folowing points.

I believe that in any field and especially in athletics and sports, competition drives people to push their limits and to give their best. In organized sports, when there is competition between the young athletes to determine who is the best, it gives the athletes a sense of purpose for what they are doing. It gives them something to work for. Winning a competition will be the incentive that they need to give their best and to push themselves as much as they can. Competition gives them the motivation that they require to become the best versions of themselves.

When the young athletes compete against one another, it gives them an idea of where they stand amongst their peers and they get to know how good they are as compared to their peers and as compared to other similar people. The competition gives them a reality check that shows them how good they are. If there were no competitions among the athletes, each athlete would perform at their own pace and maybe even improve themselves a little. But without a competition, they won't be able to drive themselves to not only be a better than what they previously were but also to push themselves to be better than their peers. This in turn manages to push the athletes to their maximum potential because they have the incentive in front of them of winning the competition and a feeling a sense of accomplishment.

All that being said, I do have to agree that in some cases competition discourages people who are not athletically talented form participating in organized sports. If the person is not as athletically talented as their peers, then participating in organized sports may prove to be a imbroglio that they will want to avoid as no one wants to embarass themselves in front of others. For these people, competitions can prove to be intimidating as they have the fear of failure which may result in lower self confidence.

Therefore, I do agree that for people who are not as athletically talented as other might be discouraged from participating in organizeed sports but I think that if they know that they are not as athletically gifted as others, they should not feel discouraged or embarassed about participating in sports as there might be numerous other fields where they might be more talented than their peers. I believe that competition is something that tries to bring out the best in us as long as it is carried out in an ethical manner and hence, I agree that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best.