Some people believe that competition drives young athletes to perform at their best, while others believe that competition discourages those who are not athletically talented from participating in organized sports.

For any person, the key to success is rectifying the mistakes and improving his/her performance in the future. The statement posits two different views regarding the competition as some people believe that it is vital for any athlete to give his/her best while some people argue that competition discourages those athletes who are not able to perform well. While the competition may discourage some of the athletes but it is a primary requirement for improvement.

To begin with, there are many circumstances when any person tries to perform well in every attempt but due to some reasons, he/she is not able to improve. At this time, anyone will feel discouraged by seeing other people’s performance. But many factors are affecting the performance of any people. For instance, if any person likes swimming and consequently, he/she decided to be a good swimmer, then it is likely that he/she will compare herself/himself with that of the best swimmer in the world. Eventually, due to this comparison, he/she will probably be demotivated because best swimmers are meticulously trained by professionals and eventually perform exceptionally in their swimming. The above example illustrates that instead of getting demotivated by the top swimmers, the factors responsible for their performance should be considered. After knowing in detail about any field, anyone can make an apt decision and improve.

Furthermore, competition helps any athlete to remain active in his/her sport. If any athlete compares his/her talent with others, then there are chances of improvements in the athlete’s effort because proper comparison elicits many weak areas. For example, Virat Kohli, the Indian Cricketer, in his rudimentary stages of playing cricket, finds many difficulties to face fast bowlers. He used to compare himself with Virendra Sehwag, a former Indian cricketer, to perform better. He can identify many flaws in his batting style and as a result, he tried to rectify his mistakes. As time passes, he can rectify almost ninety per cent of mistakes and eventually became the captain of the Indian cricket team. This shows that if any person maintains a positive attitude towards the competition, then he/she is likely to succeed in his/her efforts. Moreover, competition is a key factor to eradicate laziness from any person. Competing with others at a higher level leads to remain completely focus on the current works and put the fecklessness aside. Thus, as seen in the example, like Virat Kohli, competition helps many athletes to shape their careers effectively.

It can be inferred that, while many people believe that competition leads to discouragement in an athlete's spirit, however, maintaining a positive attitude towards it will likely bring success.