In a study of the music listening preferences of Hollyland residents, conducted by the University of Sunnyland, most respondents listed their favorite type of music as country. However, another study indicated that, in Hollyland, the most frequently downloaded songs were all in the popular music genre. Therefore, it can be assumed that the respondents in the initial study were not truthful about their music listening habits.

In the argument, the author concludes that the study conducted by the University of Sunnyland is not valid. The author believes this conclusion on the basis of another study which indicate that the number of downloaded songs were all in the popular music genre as compare to that of country by University of Sunnyland in their report. However, the conclusion is based on two understated assumption which should be substantiated in order to elicit an apt decision.

First of all, the author states that most respondents, in the study conducted by the University of Sunnyland, listed their favourite type of music as country. The author assumes that most of the people are just responding to study for the sake of formality and no one is serious about the study. However, it may not be the case. The author had not written how many numbers of respondents responds to the study. The author simply states most of the respondents and does not give any account of information regarding the actual study. Furthermore, the author assumes that University of Sunnyland is biased in its study. Perhaps, it may not be true. They might be conducting the study meticulously but due to lack of interest by the people, their study is different from that of done by the internet. If either of the cases is true then the argument does not hold water.

Second of all, the author is comparing the study by University of Sunnyland with another study done with the use of internet. The author presumes whatever the internet shows, is accurate and precise as most of the people is giving their response. However, it may not be true. It might be the case that, if the same person downloads a songs huge number of time then the number will obviously higher than the study by the University of Sunnyland. Moreover, the author had not provided any details regarding from which website the study had been done. Perhaps, the author assumes that in the survey, one person can vote only one time, which may not be true as seen above. Apart from this, the author states most frequently downloaded songs are of music genre. Author assumes that most frequent surveys are accurate as compare to the old one, which may not be the case. Perhaps, the most frequent survey may be inaccurate. If the either of the above points are true then the validity of the argument does not hold and it needs further evidence.

In conclusion, it might be the case that the study by the University of Sunnyland is false but as it stands now, the argument is relying on above unfounded assumptions which if not substantiated, then render its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus author needs evidence for number of participants in study, name of website from which internet related study had been done and validity of the study by University of Sunnyland.