If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Experience indeed plays a vital role in determining the quality of work. People with more experience tend to give efficient results as compared to freshers. The claim posits that experience should be given a priority while recruiting a candidate for any job. It seems appropriate to recruit based on experience. However, the claim does not provide a complete picture.

To begin with, the talent of any person determines his/her ability to work in any situation. If a person is talented then it is likely that he/she will tackle almost every problem. For example, consider a situation where two persons are sitting for a job interview. One person is having experience of 5 years and the other one is fresher. Now, it might be possible that the experienced person has done nothing in those 5 years and maybe was fired from previous jobs because of the quality of his/her work. Whereas the other one might study well in his/her college, and as a result, he/she have a tight hold in his/her field. If the firm had selected the experienced person then it will be deleterious for that company in the future. Thus, every experienced person may not have good knowledge and therefore, freshers should be given a chance to prove themselves.

Furthermore, depending only on the experience may not be beneficial for any organization. Some people may believe that experience is crucial for developing new ideas but there are many other factors, apart from the experience, which decides the effectiveness of any person. For instance, there are many skills that do not require experience to improve. One of such skills is analytical thinking. Everyone posses different types of thinking ability. A person who is studying in college may have good analytical skills than that a person who is having experience of 5 years in any field. This is because the interest of a person determines the ability to analyze a particular situation. The person with more experience may not have any kind of interest as compared to that of fresher. So, if any firm conducts an exam before selecting the candidate then it is more likely an apt decision as compared to select people only on the basis of experience.

It can be inferred that selecting the candidate based on job experience sounds beneficial but it will likely backfire if all the factors determining the job requirement are not considered. Thus, the only experience will not provide accurate information about the candidate