Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate studies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate that pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that the airline industries have argued that flying is safer than driving. The author concludes this on the basis of the statistics related to a study where the number of road accident is relatively higher as compared to that of airline. However, there are many questions that need to be answered to maintain the persuasiveness of the argument and to elicit an apt decision.

Firstly, is there any statistical information mentioned about the total number of driver and pilots? The author states that approximately 40,000 deaths reported in automobile versus 200 in airline. It might be the case that there are less aeroplanes flying as compared to that of vehicles. If the number of aeroplane is less then, the rate of accident will obviously be lesser than that of automobiles. So, considering the total number of vehicles helps to proves the validity of the argument. Furthermore, is there any mention the condition of the aeroplane or vehicles? Perhaps, the aeroplanes are treated meticulously before any flight because aeroplanes are complex and as a result it should be treated with care. If either of the cases is true then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the author mentioned that on average pilots are four times less likely to have accident than that of vehicle drivers. If there any mentioned about health condition of pilots or of drivers? It might be the case that before the flight, pilots are undergoing the health analysis because they have to fly an aeroplane which required proper fitness. The vehicles driver may not be maintaining the health checkups routine as they have to drive daily their vehicles. So, since the pilots are healthy as compared to that of vehicles driver, as a result the accidents reports of the aeroplane are fewer as compared to that of automobiles. Moreover, the argument states that airline representatives argued that flying is safer. Is there any mention of who the representatives are and what factors they have taken to conclude the report? Maybe, they are relying on very few amounts of data and not considering the factors mentions above. If this case is true then the arguments validity weakens apart.

In conclusion, after the above questions will be answered effectively and by taking all the factors into the consideration, proper decision can be taken. Thus the author needs to give accurate number of aeroplanes and vehicles in the study, health condition of the pilots and drivers and condition of the aeroplane and vehicles in the survey.