The ancient Oppo tribe has long been thought to have hunted only with wooden spears because none of their cave paintings depict bows or arrows. Recently, however, flint arrowheads have been found among the fossilized bones of ibex, animals thought to be a staple of the oppo tribe’s diet. Since these finds were made on land previously inhabited by the Oppo tribe, it follows that the Oppo used both spears and arrows to hunt.

The argument posits the conclusion that Oppo tribe used both the spear and arrow to hunt the animals. The conclusion is based on the evidence that, recently the fossil of the animal which used to live in the ground of Oppo tribe was found with flint arrowheads and hence it is believe that Oppo tribe used arrows to hunt the animals. However, this conclusion is based on many understated assumptions, which should be assay properly to elicit an apt decision.

First of all, argument states that none of the cave painting depicts bows and the arrows. In ancient time, peoples draw most of the things which they saw, and therefore it might be possible that they did not use the arrows for hunting. Perhaps, wooden spears are very effecting in hunting the animals as compared to arrows and as a result they never had a need to use arrow for hunting. Furthermore, nothing is mentioned about the research that had happened when analysing the things that Oppo tribe used to hunt the animals. On the basic of recent fossilized bones of ibex, which is used to live on the ground of Oppo tribe, author assumes that it is the favourite diet of Oppo tribes. It may not be the case, there may be some other tribes who used to hunt the ibex and since no research is given in the argument, nothing can be said about the tribe’s hunting equipment. If either of the cases is true then the argument does not hold water.

Second of all, argument does not provide any information about the age of the fossil. It might be the case that, even though the fossil is found in the ground of the Oppo tribes, the fossil may got hunted before Oppo tribes comes to live there. So if it is true then the fossil may be hunt by some other tribes rather than the Oppo tribes. Moreover, there might be other staple of the Oppo tribe’s diet, which the argument does not mentioned, which can helps to prove that Oppo tribes used only wooden spears. By knowing the details of only one fossil, it may be plausible to predict that Oppo tribes used the arrows to hunt the animals for their diet. If either of the case is true then the validity of the argument does not hold true and the argument weakens apart.

On conclusion, it may be possible that Oppo tribe used both the spears and arrows to hunt. But as it stands now, the above assumptions weaken the claim of the argument and the argument needs the evidence for the fossil’s age, Oppo tribe’s diet, all painting drawn by Oppo tribes and research to be done for the fossil found.