Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Education consists of all kinds of activities such as extracurricular, theoretical and practical. All this activities plays a vital role in determining the effectiveness of the students to handle every kind of problems encountered by them in the future. Proper functioning of these activities is primary requirement for any student. The prompt recommends that in the need of funds, schools should cut the funding of the extracurricular activities like sports and the arts. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the prompt based on the following reasons.

First of all, the importance of extracurricular activities cannot be ignored. It has a lot of benefit in terms of refreshment and interest of the student. For example, after studying whole day in the classroom, every student wants to fresh their mood by doing something different, which is not a part of their field of interest. Extracurricular activities are therefore a primary requirement for the student to act as refreshment and as a result students can focus on their field of interest. Furthermore, extracurricular activities like art inspire many students. For instance, many students can depict their current scenario by the means of drawing and as a result it will help them to relieve the stress.

Second of all, sport is the activity which plays a crucial role in determining the fitness of students. After playing any game, students can feel the difference in their body and realised that the game helped them to stay fit. If any person is fit and fine then, he/she can focus on his/her daily routine. As the focus increase gradually, the efficiency of the student in their study will also increase. If the funding of the sport is cut then there might be many circumstances where a student may get harm while playing any sport due to lack of proper equipments or due to breaking of any equipment. So, proper funding of the sport should be maintained in order to assert the health of the students.

Finally, if the school requires the funds then it can get the funds from the bank as a loan. This is because banks used to support schools in the need of money, as school is regarded as a temple of education. So, instead of cutting the funds from sports or arts, loan should be taken by the school to meet their requirement. Cutting the funds from the extracurricular activity might be beneficial for the school for short term but for a long run, school requires functioning of all types of activities.

In conclusion, it might sounds beneficial for the schools to cut the funding of the extracurricular activities like sports and art but it is likely to backfire. So, schools should look for an alternative approach for collecting funds.