Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence and I strongly disapprove of the author's viewpoint as I believe that intelligence is a very abstract concept even with today's technological advancement and narrowing it down to one parameter for measurement is not correct. The following points will explain this stand of mine in greater detail.

As mentioned above, intelligence is a very abstract concept even today. It is a very broad spectrum and no one has completely understood how to attribute someone or even something as intelligence. Intelligence varies based on a person's perspective. Some people might think that a person who has a good presence of mind is intelligent, or someone who understands concept well and a good grasping capacity is intelligent. Someone might think that has a good memory might be intelligent or some people like the author may think that the people who have the gift of creativity might be intelligent. All these points that are listed each have a great significance in our daily life and each can prove to be just as important as any other and these are not the only parameters, there might be countless such parameters about human behaviour that has helped us sustain for such a long period of time and hence intelligence is not something that can be narrowed down to a single parameter.

Futhermore, there is a very famous quote that says " Hardwork beats talent when talent doesn't work hard." This quote says that even if you have talent, you have creativity, you have the gift of imagination but if you don't work on it or put it to good use, what's the point of having creativity ? Can such a person be labelled as intelligent ? Only having creativity does not make you an intelligent person, it only gives you the means to move forward.

Although I agree with the author's claim to some extent that creativity and the power of imagination are very vital in innovation and we are where we are today because everything around us was once imagined by someone but even then, it took efforts from a lot of hardworking people who persevered and made it possible. They didn't have the creativity themselves but they had something else to offer which led us here.

Therefore, I agree that creativity is a measure of intelligence but it can't be used as the only true measure of intelligence as intelligence is not about how much can you imagine and create, it's about a lot of different things that bring that imagination to life.