True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that true success can be measured in terms of the goals that one sets for themselves and I agree with the author as his staement has merits in several respects. I agree so strongly with the author on this account because of the points that I list as following.

We know ourselves the best. We are the best judge of ourselves because no one else can know a person better than the person themself. We know what we know, we know what we don't know, we know how much progress we have made, we know our achievements, we know our failures, we know our strengths, we know our weaknesses. We know where we excell and where we fall back. Thus the goals that we set for ourselves are the goals that we will set knowing all of the above and they will be the most realistic goals that anyone can set for us.

As mentioned earlier, we know ourselves the best. Therefore, we know what our limits are and what we have achieved so far. We know our capabilities and thus we know to what extent we can push ourselves. We can set our goals according to our limits and thus try to excel. If these goals were to be set by a someone else, maybe by someone who doesn't even know us, then the goals that they set can be unrealistic or they can be unchallenging. If the goals are unrealistic then can discourage us from continuing and break our confidence or if the goals are not challenging enough then won't help us reach our maximum potential.

On the other hand, I do have to agree that in certain scenarios, when a person fails to recognize their own potential or when they fail to motivate themselves, it does sometimes help to have someone else motivate you or make you realise what you are capable of. They can help you push your limits when you are unable to do so.

In the final analysis, although sometimes we need someone else to push us and set the goals for us when we are demotivated and unable to do so ourselves, there is no guarantee that we will have someone by our side all the time to help us through everythng in life. Therefore, I strongly agree that success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals that one sets for themselves.