In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that in any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field and I agree with the author on this claim as I believe that to make any significant contribution in a field, it is important to have as much knowledge about the field as possible. The following points will elucidate my perspective.

Firstly, I believe that to make a significant contributionin any field, a person should have knowledge about how the field has burgeoned, how the field has grown into what it is today so as to give the person a clearer view about where the field stands today. Once a person has been influenced by the past achievements he or she will understand where the scope of further development lies and where can they work so as to make a contribution to the field. It is important to know what has already been achieved and how it has been achieved so as to be better equiped with the proper knowledge on how to contribute to that field of endeavor.

Secondly, by being influenced by the past achievements within the field, the person gets a better knowledge and a better feel of that field of endeavor. The person can relate to the field better and while working further to make a significant contribution to the field, they can be better inspired by the people that have paved the way for them to come this far in their field of endeavor. They can draw on the struggles or achievements of their predecessors and shape their own thoughts according to that and innovate and contribute to the field. A very simple and relatable example for this is the field of medicine. The field of medicine is also ever improving with the technological advancements and whenever the doctors are faced with a patient that they can't figure out how to treat, it is not uncommon for them to resort to case studies of similar cases and draw inspiration from them so as to treat their patient better.

Although all that being said, I have to also concede to the fact that at times when stuck on a problem, a fresh perspective is very helpful instead of going around in circles being fixated on being influenced by the past achievements in that field. When a person is not influenced by the past achievements of a field, they have their own thought process in mind which helps them think clearly and may even help them reach their solution to the problem and make a significant contribution to the field.

Therefore, I agree with the author to a great extent and believe that in any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field but I also believe that there are exceptions to these cases and sometimes it may prove to be helpful in contribution to the field without being influenced by the past achievements.