People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers

I agree with the statement that people who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers. I believe that decisions about anything should always be taken after logically considering all the aspects of the situation and not just on a whim. The following points will elucidate my stance.

I believe that people who make decisions on the basis of emotions and then try to justify them by logic, are just finding reasons to provide support for their decision that they did not take by carefully and logically evaluating their options. They feel like they need to defend their decisions because they were taken while thinking emotionally. Any kind of decisions, big or small, have an effect on your life or maybe on others as well. These decisions should be considered by evaluating all the aspects of the situation.

When we don't evaluate a situation logically in the initial stages itself, then we will not be able to find the precious balance between the logic and emotion and be swayed away by the emotions. Humans are emotional beings and these emotions can be a huge factor in a lot of our decisions. But what is important is to be able to think emotionally and logically together. Decisions based solely on emotions or solely based on logic, may not be the best decisions in our favor.

I agree, emotions play a huge role in all of our decisions but not getting swayed away by these emotions and thinking logically before making any decision, is what will prove best for us. It is also possible that sometimes logic evades us completely and we make a decision purely on our emotions and that may even work in our favor at times. People often say, follow your heart. It means that we should put logic aside for the time being and think from our heart and let the emotions rule our decisions. This can prove beneficial at times as well. We might end up doing something that we would never have done if we were thinking logically and that may have even been the best decision in our lives. For eg, making a decision for an impromptu trip across the country or selecting a vocation that gives us the most amount of satisfaction and not thinking about any decision logically. These decisions can be life altering and can sometimes prove beneficial for us but they can have an equally negative effect as well. Thus, the decisions based solely on emotions can go either way and there is no guarantee that they will work out in our favor. And finding logic in these decisions is just like making excuses for yourself because you don't want to admit that the decision may not have been logically sound.

In conclusion, I agree that sometimes the decisions governed by pure emotions can be the best decisions in our lives but, more often than not we try to defend these decisions with logic later on just to convince ourselves and others that the decision was cogent enough. If we keep doing this with all of our decisions, then theat will make us poor decision makers as we will always be giving justifications for our decisions.