Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The statement above concludes that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. The evidence provided to support this conclusion is that recently archaeologists discovered such a basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. Since there were no Palean boats and the Brim River is very deep and broad, Paleans could have not crossed it by any other means. Hence the author arrives at the above mentioned conclusion. However, the evidence provided by the author is not adequate and hence the conclusion drawn on the basis of the evidence is faulty.

It has been stated that one basket was discovered in the village of Lithos. No doubt the discovery of the so-called Palean basket on the other side of the river points to some evidence but it does not necessarily support the fact that those baskets were made by the people of Lithos as well. There is a very high possibility that the one basket got washed up on the banks of Brim River, which flows between the two villages of Lithos and Palea, where the village of Lithos is located, by happy chance.

One of the evidences on which the conclusions was based was that the Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat. As it is known that over a period of time, rivers can change the structure of the earth and the shape of their stream as well. Therefore, assuming that the Paleans would not have been able to cross the river without a boat is completely wrong as we do not know about the geographical characteristics of the river. The river could have been shallow at that time and it might have been possible to cross the river without boats, which suggests that the two villages could have had knowledge of each others existence.

It has also been stated that there are no Palean boats found and hence if the Brim River was deep and broad at that time then the Paleans would not have any means to cross the river. This is a faulty conclusion because no Palean boats have been found does not necessarily mean that Paleans didn't have any boats. The evidence of Palean boats could have been destroyed or the evidence might not have been discovered yet.

Thus while all the evidence already discovered about the Paleans and the basket on the other side of the river, it is not strong enough to bolster the conclusion that has been drawn about the so-called Palean baskets not being uniquely Palean.