Every Individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In devoting and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue here at hand states that, every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist the unjust laws and to which I align with to a great extent. It is the responsibility of an individual to always be cognizant about the laws and if they are just or unjust in nature in terms of welfare of the society and associated greater good. One of the most important reasons is that the legislatures that are accepted and enforced by authorities on a society is by humans and for the humans. We know humans make mistakes as well as are sometimes driven by avarice and the benefits of malfeasance.

One of the basic and underlying themes of any just law should be to uphold humanity at all costs and the moment it deviates from the same, the laws must be questioned by responsible individuals and for an answer from the authorities. This has been the case in many such instances in the past. One such recent example was in India when the Indian Government brought in a piece of legislature that was discriminatory on the basis of religion and was thus unjust to that particular religious community based on the fact that India is predominantly a secular country. Initially the unjust laws were challenged by students and professionals widely across the country and soon responsible citizens in huge numbers came in support of the students to inveigh the law.

Other than humanitarian issues in unjust laws and legislatures there are risks to the environment as well. The state of the global natural environment has been experiencing a steady deterioration due to increased human interference in natural processes. The unjust laws that bring tremendous damage to these ecosystems and their environments thus need to be widely resisted and challenged as well. There has been a global uproar against the policies and laws that undermine the amelioration of environment and nature by the younger generation because they understand the importance of nature in the Earth’s future. Thus authorities need to be kept on check and such unjust laws must be resisted that are extremely harmful to nature.

Disobedience and non-violent resistance has been one of the key methods to tackle unjust laws. It has been demonstrated in the past by well-known leaders like Mahatma Gandhi who disobeyed the taxation of salt by marching to a beach at Dandi and picking up a handful of salt thus disobeying the same. The only thing that needs to be understood while resistance is that it does not equate to violence or vandalism or anything of such sorts which curtails other’s fundamental rights.

Thus I find the statement of this issue to be aligning with my views to a great extent.