Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In devoting and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is completely agreeable that schools must prepare their students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood with a great importance. Lionizing the non-academic education imparted to the students would be of great help to the students who will be entering the real world after passing out. We can all agree on the fact that the real world is comparatively too bizarre for someone coming out of the shell of innocence after passing out from school. Every aspect of the real world and adulthood is based heavily on non academic education and the students must be prepared to face them however daunting it may seem initially.

One of the most important aspects where schools must prepare their students to be more accustomed and understanding of the world after school is to encourage and nurture critical thinking. Students must be able enough to take decisions on bolstered by their ability to think and analyze any situation. If students are served with choice based reasoning all along the curriculum then they might always tend to rely heavily on choices or may falter when not provided any, which is true in most cases in adulthood and the real world. As visionary and well renowned scientist Neil deGrasse Tyson said that children must be trained to think critically while they are pursuing their education so that when they enter the real world they are ready to innovate and make their way around challenges by themselves.

Another aspect where schools should prepare their students is to clarify the understanding of students in concepts like Morality, which show up in the form of daily life questions or problems, where one must choose the moral and the righteous path. The definition of morality and real life situations must be emulated and provided to students as tasks so as to illustrate a toned down version of the realworld they are going to face as they progress into adulthood.

Similar important concepts that directly affect the human aspects for example concepts in Sex Education must be inculcated in them with proper exposition. This would make the students more responsible in their actions and prevent the seeding of licentious behaviors. The current scenario of growing teenage pregnancies and abortions and increasing number of single parent childhood can be tackled to a great extent if the students are made to understand the gravity of morality and sex education in life and that how they can affect human lives in a better way.

The real world and adulthood brings with it the quotidian dealings and negotiations and with better non-academic buttressing by the schools in subjects like professional communication, can help students to fend for themselves in this world. Moreover these form of non-academic teachings helps underpin the academic aspects by maintaining professionalism at work, to communicate better with a team and to lead a team upfront and being a better team leader. Thus I think we all agree that the responsibility to inculcate non academic aspects of adulthood should be and must be taken up by the schools positively, helping their beneficiaries achieve a bit more in life other than the academic aspect of it.