To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral

standards.

Highest Ethics and Moral standards though not mandatory are the salient values an effective leader is purported to have. Ethics and moral standards is what keeps a person grounded and loyal to the job and duty he or she needs to serve in order to contribute the society from a position of maintaining a public office. I think that ethics and moral standards should be the driving features of a effective leaders and public officials. My cerebrations for the same are broached in the following three paragraphs.

Firstly, a strong sense of ethical and moral values keeps a person from indulging into fradulent as well as licentious activities. For example a study conducted in India on the members of the parliament delineates that more than half the members of the parliament have been engaged in activities that can be deemed morally ethical and some have been reported to be involved in cases as pernicious as meddling with public welfare systems. One of these members was reported to have been overseeing and condoning a healthcare scam which directly effected the lives of hundreds of people. These people who are elected by the people to be leaders and champion human rights and healthcare for the people who elected them, when forgo ethics and moral standards for personal gains results to dire consequences as stated above.

Secondly, upholding the ethical standards and moral values as a leader helps to gain and maintain the trust with the people who the leaders represent. This helps in establishing a suitable and healthy atmosphere for the leader to work and people are less chary of them. For example, upcoming youth leaders like Chandrashekhar Azad of political organization representing minority earned overwhelming trust and support from the thousands of people he was surrounded by when he upholded the laws of the constituition while protesting against the authoritarian government and did not resort to violence even when provoked by the police. This limned to the people that instead of the constant efforts by the police to elicit a violent reaction, Chandrashekar refrained from being an incendiary and set a precedent to the crowds present there that day. His commitment to his words and moral standards made people have faith in him as a leader and this faith burgeoned across the crowd.

Lastly, a leader or a public official who venerates ethical and moral standards, inspires the next generation of leaders and also the people they represent, to do the same. From the example stated in the previous paragraph it can be showed that when a leader chooses to adopt the righteous way which is concomitant with ethics and good morals, it inspires peoples who surround this person to follow suit. It sets example for upcoming leaders as, how a leader should be. An example of Senator John McCain can be provided where he always refrained from calumnious speech against his political opponents and always lauded the competence of his opponents. His supporters who now venerate his ethical and moral values are the next generation of people who are carrying on his legacy after he died.

Thus, in conclusion, though one might argue that it is always not possible to maintain highest ethical and moral standards as an effective leader or public official, it is an indispensable fact that those who do maintain, are revered and become examples for the next generation of leaders to look up to. Thus, I firmly believe an effective leader, or an public official should always maintain highest of ethical and moral standards.