"Most people are taught that loyalty is a virtue. But loyalty---whether to one's friends, to one's

school or place of employment, or to any institution---is all too often a destructive rather than a

positive force."

Loyalty and fidelity are one of those virtues that at times have been subjected to question and are debated til this date. The problem is engendered when the fine line between loyalty and fanaticism is blurred. Loyalty is an important virtue that is taught to most of us, is ultimately destructive rather than a positive force in our lives, is more of a polemical claim to be made. The difference between pledging fealty to someone or some instituition must not and should not be confused with loyalty and that loayalty as a virtue doesn't discourage or debilitate one's ability to question. I strongly beg to differ from the claim being made based on the following two reasons that are listed below.

Loyalty is the core of all relationships in this world. Relationships or human bonds are based on loyalty. Human's are convivial beings and require social interaction to thrive. Loyalty enables the profoundness of an interaction and ability of one self to truely express themselves in presence of fellow humans. For example we rely on a handful of our friends for emotional support and self expression. The loyalty in friendship gives rise to a sense of mutual trust which strengthens the bond of the friendship. It helps someone realize that he or she will have that loyal support in times of genuine need. Thus loyalty gives meaning to the relationship, here friendship is considered as an example.

Loyalty ensures professional success ans ease to a certain degree. In the fast paced world to develop an loyal working relationship with colleagues and superiors and adhering to it is beneficial as well as rewarding. If for example your superior needs some important work that needs to be done by someone under his commandship, you might land the job owing to your hardwork and dedication but what enabled the decision for you to land the job is "Loyalty". Based on one's past loyal and assiduos services one might be rightfully favoured for important jobs or responsibilities in highly competitive work culture and this a outstanding example where loyalty pays off.

Though one might argue that loyalty taken out of proportion and blinded by fanaticism might result into negative force. It might putatively result into promoting and justifying of wrongdoings and malevolence out of loyalty. For example one can out of loyalty towards his friends turn a blind eye to their delinquent friends who might be involved in activities like doing drugs. This is one of the salient reasons loyalty gets decried as an possible negative force that might have a negative impact over all. Though this fanaticsm and decadence of one's ability to judge the morality and ethics is ascribed to Loyalty it is simply a misrepresentation of the virtue in general. Loyalty as a virtue when imparted to someone doesn't imply blind faith or being zealots for any individual or instituition. It is the weakness of one's character that fails to discriminate between loyalty and fanaticism.