The following appeared in a newspaper article about law firms in the city of Megalopolis In Megalopolis the number of law school graduates who went to work for larger corporate firms declined by 15 over the last three years whereas an increasing num

In the article form the local newspaper, the author of the arguments claims that if the law corporate firms of Megalopolis want to entice local law graduates, it should offer more benefits and curtail its working hours in order to provide a greater job satisfaction. The author of this article has come to this conclusion based on the issues faced by the local graduates’ recent inclination towards small companies while large firms usually offer much higher salaries than the smaller firms. Even in a survey, they also make it clear that job satisfaction plays the pivotal role of this unusual declination in Megalopolis city. However, before the proposal can be properly evaluated, three important questions must be answered.

First of all, are the quality of graduates remain exactly same as earlier graduates of Megalopolis? In other words, are the recent graduates eligible enough to apply for the large corporate firms? It is possible that, large corporate firms of Megalopolis city have been updated their application criteria for entry level job. In a response, it might be possible that recent graduates of this very city are not competent enough to meet with the asked criteria. Moreover, perhaps, large companies were not satisfied with the performance made by its earlier junior lawyer appointed exactly three years earlier. For the sake of companies’ betterment, they have decided not to make any compromise with the qualities of their entry level employers. Eventually, there is a possibility which makes recent graduates to go to smaller law firms. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly misleading.

Secondly, are their exactly same number of corporate firms working in Megalopolis city what was working three years earlier? It has a good chance that a number of corporate law firms recently shifted their offices from Megalopolis city any other cities. Suppose, three years earlier there were 10 large corporate firms in Megalopolis city. And, they usually recruit 100 new law graduates in their firms. Let us assume, due to some reasons 5 of them had to change offices from Megalopolis city to anywhere else. So, it clearly demonstrates that job opportunity in an entry level post offered by large law firms declined by 50% from its earlier value. If the above is true, the argument does not hold water.

Finally, is it possible to say firmly that some incentives can enhance job satisfaction? No, actually no one can say it so surely as because any kind of satisfaction is an entirely abstract phenomenon. So, only by increasing some facilities or simply by curtail working hours does not necessarily ameliorate job satisfactions. Perhaps, it requires various unknown parameters such as camaraderie, behavior from the seniors etc. So, if these are the cases then the demands of the author of this argument are simply fallacious.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author of this argument is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate the proposed recommendation to add more incentives in order to enhance job satisfaction of local law graduates of Megalopolis city.