The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago During this same time period

In the letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper, it is stated that government should regulate retail milk price in order to confirm fair prices for consumers as well as prevent farmers form making excessive profits. The author of this letter has come to this conclusion based on the contrasting issues faced by the consumers of Excello food market that is increasing price of retail milk price while supplies are adequate. However, before the proposal can be properly assessed, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is the maintenance cost of dairy firms remain unchanged during this ten-year period? It is possible that with time maintenance cost of regulating a dairy firm has increased due to some inevitable factors. Such as, it may be possible that, for some reason animal food was not available in Batavia so farmers were compelled to buy food at a higher price what was lower 10 years earlier. It is also possible that, other factors such as electricity price has been increased by the government significantly so nowadays it is difficult to run a dairy firm exactly same expenditure what was possible from even five years back. If either of these examples has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original letter is significantly misleading.

Secondly, are there no third parties between farmers and retail consumers who buy milk from Excello food market? In other words, is the farmer in the Excello food market who directly sell their milk to local consumers? The author of the argument superficially assumes that, Batavia farmers directly sell their milk to the consumers. But this might not be the case. Perhaps there are third parties who buy milk from dairy farmers and then sell to the consumers at the Excello food market. It is possible that farmers still sell their milk at the earlier price which was almost 50% less than the today’s price. So, it is the third parties who increase the price while the number of dairy firms increased quarter times from its one-decade earlier values. If he above is true the argument does not hold water.

Finally, is the population of Batavia remain constant in the entire 10 years period? Unfortunately, the author of the letter provides no information to resolve the issue. Because it is a crucial question in order to evaluate adequate supply of milk in Batavia. It is possible that population increased almost 50% while the amount of milk supplied from dairy firms is not compatible with the increasing demands. In that case strict regulations of the dairy market would be viewed as an inadequate decision because there is an inverse relation between supply and demand in economics which states when the supply is not enough then there is a good chance to increase its price.

In conclusion, the argument, at is stands now, is completely flawed due its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to completely evaluate his recommendation whether government should control retail milk price or not.