The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette On Balmer Island where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation the population increases to 100 000 during the summer months To reduce the number of accidents involv

In the letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette, the writer stated that if the town council of Balmer island reduces the number of mopeds rented by island’s mopeds rental companies by 50 percent, then the town council will able to reduce the island’s total number of accidents, involving mopeds and pedestrians, also by 50 percent from its original value. The writer has come to this conclusion based on the support that a success was achieved by Seavile’s town council, a neighboring island, when enforced similar restrictions on mopeds rentals. However, before this recommendation be properly assessed, these below questions must be answered.

First of all, are the populations increment of Balmer island and Seavile’s island are roughly comparable during the summer season? In other words, can circumstances from one island be used to make generalizations and predictions about the other? It is possible that populations of Balmer and Seavile’s populations during the summer are not congruent at all- perhaps Seavile’s populations remain same, whereas, Balmer population increases to 100 thousand during the summer. Further, there is a possibility that the population of the Seavile’s island decreases by a great number from its actual value during the summer month and hence make it easier for the Seavile’s town council to limit the number of accidents. If either of these scenarios has merit, then prediction drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are there similar number of roads available in these two islands? The writer of the argument prematurely assumes that by only limiting the mopeds number simply reduce the number of accidents in the Balmer island. However, this not might be the case. Because, it is possible that Seavile’s island has a greater number of roads than the Balmer island. So, it is easy to assume that reduction of mopeds number maybe performs as a catalyst for Seavile’s island while same procedure does not necessarily work for another island. In an ideal world, one can predict anything he or she wants, but in the reality, it is mandatory to show precise evidence in order to make one’s claim justifiable. If the above is true, then the argument does not hold on water.

Moreover, it is possible that Seavile’s town council add some additional restrictions for pedestrians’ movements what makes it favorable to lower the total number of accidents of Seavile’s island. Furthermore, if there are a smaller number of mopeds in Savile island than the Balmer island then of course, the two scenarios are not same at all. Because, it is possible that even after limiting the values of mopeds number by exactly 50 percent from the earlier value, maybe still there are huge number of mopeds in the Balmer island. And if it is true then it will surely undermine the writers claim in the given argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it is stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the writer of this argument is able to answer the above questions and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a more systematic research style), the it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to limit the number of mopeds rented by the rental companies of Balmer island.