In any realm of life---whether academic, social, business, or political---the only way to

succeed is to take a practical, rather than an idealistic, point of view. Pragmatic behavior

guarantees survival, whereas idealistic views tend to be superceded by simpler, more

immediate options.

Humans have always been divided in terms of quixotic and prgamatic people. But as one matures and goes through the course of life, with the accretion of experiences at every step, the utopian views for life transmogrify into pragmatism. I strongly believe a practical approach towards life is a approach towards success in all fields, like academic, social, business or political. The following two reasons delineate why I opine as such.

Pragmatic approach in life helps us from having false hopes that soon turn to expectations, that are bound to be shattered. For example, being an average kid in the class, if I have a utopian hope that I will achieve the highest grade in class, not only will I fail to acheive the highest grade, rather I will have false hopes that I will be able to achieve my goal. Being pragmatic at the same juncture of my life I would have taken one step at a time and worked my way towards the highest grade assiduosly. My utopian viewpoint would coerce me to hope that I actually can achieve a highest grade even though when I actually will have no prescient plan in mind to achieve the same. When I fail it would be a disheartening experience as the false expectations and hopes and shatter. This goes to show why we should be more pragmatic could bolster us to actually reach our goals and also maintain them instead of being ephemeral achievements.

Pragmatic Behaviour helps us discover the things around us in reality that can be of help to us in our road to survival. An example of the current corporate sector can be cited, where there is one needs to be highly competent and conversant in the required domains to secure a job. Someone with quixotic views about life and the job opportunities would fail to spot the nuances that help someone secure a job. A person with pragmatic view towards the same opportunities would try to use resources like university placement councillor's advise, or alumnus who were once or are contemporarily a part of the company. They would seek and use the resources that would be essential to get selected for the job. Thus, pragmatic people, always look for the viable and feasible options available to them instead of having utopian ideas that might sound ambitious but are not worth the effort without the right appurtenances.

In sum, though some people might say that utopian outlook towards life may lead to ambitious goals that a person might set for themselves, but they fail to elucidate how will the person attain the goal if there is no practical and well reasoned plan at hand. Thus the above two reasons buttress my opinions on the issue of whether one should have an pragmatic or idealisic point of view of life.