A new study collected data that shows that people who snore are more likely to gain weight

than are people who do not snore. It is well known that many people who snore also stop

breathing frequently during the night for a few seconds, a condition called sleep apnea. The

interruption of breathing wakes the person---often so briefly that the waking goes

unnoticed---and can leave the person too tired during the day to exercise. Anyone who snores,

therefore, should try to eat less than the average person and to exercise more

The author of the argument precipitated a conclusion that a person who snores should be eating less than an average person and also exercise more. The reason behind this hasty conclusion seems to be a study that states people who snore are susceptible to weight gain than who don't. The author further cites some reasons to strengthen the argument but which seems to be based on unwarranted observations. The author should consider including the evidences to the unwarranted assumptions and stated below to make a cogent case.

What is the credibility of the study? Perhaps, the study was conducted on a small group of subjects. Since there is no mention of the source of the study, it is possible that the study conducted was not peer reviewed or was done by some instituition that has specious credibility. The lack of any test or experimental details and statistics it will be ludicrous to base any argument on the study. The author should consider investigating the source of the study and other experimental details like the number of test subjects, the considered age groups for test subjects and etc.

By stating "many people" the author fails to quantify the number of people who have snoring issues suffer from sleep apnea. Since "many" is a relative term it can be overwhelming for the author about the number of such cases that he/she might have an idea of but the actual number of cases in average might be significantly lower and less alarming than it seems here in this argument. The author must ensure some statistical evidence to justify and quantify the number of people who snore also suffer from sleep apnea.

Similarly the author fails to quantify the relation between the weight gain and snoring issues found in the test subjects that finally leads him to the conclusion of the argument. It is possible that the gain in weight for the people who snore is relatively negligible or tractable. Perhaps, a regular day's walking in enough to keep the weight gain in check. It might be the complete immoderate extreme of the case as well. But none of the possibilities can be justified if there are no definite relations provided that the quantify the relation in the first place. The author must refer to the study to provide a relation between the two phenomenons and based on which one can assess how manageable the weight gain will be.

Is there any hazard or medical expertise behind the suggestion or conclusion the author draws from his arguments. Perhaps, there might be some detrimental effects of eating less on the person who snores and who suffers from sleep apnea. It might be possible that the listlessness of the person needs proper diet to be mitigated rather than eating less. Thus, the author must refrain from medical suggestions unless, there is a medical certification underpinning the claim.

In conclusion, the above argument seems to be weak based on the above reasons specified. The author must look into the sources and medical details of the study to be incorporated in his argument which would help in strengthening it. Finally if the author considers the reasonings stated above and is able to provide necessary clarifications to certify his assumptions, it will make the argument cogent and credible.