"In any realm of life---whether academic, social, business, or political---the only way to succeed is to take a practical, rather than an idealistic, point of view. Pragmatic behavior guarantees survival, whereas idealistic views tend to be superseded by simpler, more immediate options."

It is often said that ' we should dream big to achieve success in life. It is true that while deciding your goals in life, one must look at a bigger picture and set up goals that may be beyond his capabilities. But, taking a practical approach would help him take a look at the existing reality and make decisions accordingly. The prompt suggests that in any realm of life, the only way to succeed is to adopt a practical approach. I believe that one must adopt a pragmatic approach to achieve success and excellence. My viewpoints are aptly illustrated through the below-mentioned examples.

Firstly, adopting a pragmatic approach leads to rational and logical thinking which is important to the completion of any task. Thinking idealistically, might not help in extrapolating the challenges that could be faced during the course of completing any task or achieving any goal. For instance, any politician or leader may adopt a quixotic project only to gain favor and support from the general public. He would adopt this immediate option so that he can win votes during the election process. He may give promises of implementing massive projects such as the construction of a large number of highways to eradicate the existing problem of traffic in the city. But if the government does not have enough funds to promote this idea, then the leader would fail to keep his promise as well as would lose the people's trust. Therefore, by not deliberating over the issue and thinking about its consequences, the leader would not ab able to succeed in his attempt to eradicate traffic-related issues. Therefore, one should adopt a pragmatic approach while solving any problem.

However, in contrast to the above statement, while thinking pragmatically one would underestimate his abilities and won't strive to achieve bigger goals and dreams. Adopting an idealistic approach while setting the goals will help in motivating the individual to work harder to achieve that goal. For instance, students in many educational institutes are suggested to dream big and imagine themselves at being at the topmost position in any particular field of study. This mechanism helps in encouraging students to plan for the methods which can help them in achieving their goals and helps in providing a direction to their lives. By adopting idealistic goals accompanied by a pragmatic approach to achieve these goals could ensure the success of the individual.

To sum up, although looking at a particular situation idealistically can help in motivating the person to achieve his dreams, only by adopting a pragmatic

strategy can help in ensuring success. This is because having a pragmatic point of view helps in thinking logically as well as considering the pros and cons of any issue. Idealistic views tend to be superseded by simpler and immediate options that lead to only a temporary success