The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University.

"Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged

students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega

professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade

averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the

grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as

successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its

graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of

professors."

In a memorandum from the dean at Omega University it states the need to stop the student evaluation of professors for graduates to have better job opportunities. The author cites the decrease of job opportunties that seem to have declined putatively because of the student evaluation of professors. Before proceesing the author should provide more evidences to address the following three questions or concerns to strengthen the argument.

Does the rise in student grades at Omega by thirty percent in entirely justfiable by the evalutaion system of professors? It is highly possible that the increase in marks might be a result of the enhanced understanding between the teacher and student. Perhaps, following the evaluations the professors have become more assiduous in their teaching and grading which is bound to result into the increase in the marks of all students by a certain percentage. Thus, the author might evaluate the weightage of marks that has actually been caused due to inflations by professors or if it has been due to the mutual benefit in an academic exchange like this. Moreover the students will be encouraged to strive harder where their efforts are being considered by their professors and are appropriately being rewarded.

Does the Alpha University have any other feature that ensures higher jopb prospects for it's students? Perhaps, the Alpha University has placement policies and other factors that results into an aggrandized amount of placements in comaparison to those in Omega University. For example the Alpha University might be focussing on long term campus relations, memorandums of understandings, and university programs with the companies which ensure a steady source of job prospects for it's students. It is possible that due to the lack of such policies or efforts the Omega University graduates might be losing out on similar opportunities.

In sum, the argument made by the Dean of Omega University in his memorandum stands weak. The author needs to provide more evidences by possibly interacting and conducting student surveys regarding the evaluation, along with other factors that might be the reason of the Omega University lacking in job opportunities than that of Alpha University. With the above stated evidence the author can come to a more definitive conclusion with a stronger argument to bolster it.