In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

There is an opinion that in any profession imagination is more important than knowledge and I fully agree with this opinion. Certainly knowledge is a support for any kind of activity. You can't go far without knowledge. The professional of the business is first of all the person who is well knowing the business and understanding its subtleties. However, it is imagination that helps a person to go beyond the limits of existing knowledge, to make discoveries, and to create a masterpiece.

First of all, considering the sphere of fundamental Sciences, such as physics or chemistry, it can be noted that there are many people who perform routine, but important and necessary for mankind work. However, only a rich imagination helps to make discoveries and, therefore, to develop science. For example, without deep knowledge in the field of fundamental physics, Einstein could not see the existing problem of relativity of time and speed, but only imagination helped him to put forward a completely fantastic theory of relativity, which changed the vector of development of physical science. A similar story happened with Mendeleev, who carefully studying and looking for the relationship between chemical elements, with the help of his rich imagination was able to see and depict the table of chemical elements. It is impossible not to note the contribution that this discovery has brought to the development of all world science and technology.

It may seem that in some professions, such as accounting or Finance imagination is not necessary absolutely, and most importantly knowledge. However, in my opinion, such a developed world economic system could not exist at all, without a rich human imagination. Perhaps once it was obvious to exchange goods for goods, and then it became a logical decision to introduce a gold equivalent to the goods. But to create stocks, futures, stock exchanges, liens, options and in General to create such a complex working economic system could only rich human imagination.

Speaking about the importance of imagination, it is impossible not to touch the sphere of arts. It seems to me that this is the area of our lives in which we can sometimes do without knowledge at all. Of course, most composers and artists received classical education and knew the laws of composition or musical notation before they created their masterpieces. However, there are many examples of great self-taught artists. Henri Rousseau is one of the most famous representatives of primitivism in painting. And the lack of art education helped him to create his own, unique, world-famous technique. Not only a rich imagination, but also the lack of basic education helped to see the world in a new way.

In any field and sphere of life knowledge is extremely important, but only imagination changes our world for the better.