Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

A great number of criminals break the law again after being released. The causes of that are both in the penitentiary system and in our society. Therefore the solution to the problem involves prison reforms and social schemes of rehabilitation.

Firstly, one of the main reasons why people reoffend is that prisons do not redeem criminals, but only punish them. This system does not help criminals to acquire moral values and develop skills which will be useful in their after-prison lives. Instead, prisoners are surrounded by hardened criminals who teach them their views and criminal business. Secondly, after serving their sentences, offenders have difficulty returning to normal life. There is a lot of prejudice against ex-prisoners in terms of employment. As a result, jobless people commit new crimes to survive. Moreover, after prison, they find it hard to renew social connections and establish ties with other people, while criminal communities are always happy to welcome them.

However, there are several ways to tackle the problem of reoffending. To begin with, prisons have to be reformed. It would be a good idea to introduce psychological counselling to identify and eradicate the psychological cause of crime and educational programs to give them an opportunity to earn money honestly. In addition, there should be some social rehabilitation programs to help ex-criminals to find jobs and build healthy relationships with people.

In conclusion, this problem can be solved only if it is approached from two sides - from within and from outside the prison.