The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.sources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

The letter posits that the school should change the current cafeteria vendor. The conclusion is based on the premise that there would be "serious health consequences" if the school does not replace the cafeteria vendor. The argument for the support of conclusion lacks evidence and hence the letter is unconvincing as it stands.

Firstly, it is readily assumed that the all the students do not find the food enjoyable. It can be the case that only a few do not like it and they happen to be the parents' son and his friends. To resolve this, we need to find out the total number of students in the school and also the number of them who do not enjoy the cafeterias' food.

Secondly, the argument could have been more clearer if we know about the lunch options now and before. It can be the case that the new vendor is providing more lunch options than before but only a few do not like it, while the other are finding it better. Therefore, the parent should discuss about the options that the school has now as compared to before. Additionally, it does not make sense to change the vendor because of less food options. The school should first survey the food options that students want and then seeing if Swift nutrition can accomodate the proposed options.

Lastly, the parent fails to mention on of the key factors, that is if all the parents are actually willing to give their children less healthy lunch then the nutritious one provided in the school? Most logical answer would be - NO. No parent would want their kid to eat junk food, therefore the majority would force the children to eat at the school cafeteria. Hence, to make the argument more persuasive, we need find the number of parents that would let their kid have lesser healthier lunch.

To sum up, without the answer to questions like - "How many students do not like the lunch? Can it be the case that only a few do not like lunch and they happen to be children of the parent writing the letter? Is changing the vendor the only option or can he change the menu? Are parents willing to let their kids have less healthier meals ? ", the conclusion of the letter is unsubstantiated and therefore it is not recommended to replace Swift Nutrition.