A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

The argument posits that dental care does not play a role in preventing tooth decay. The conclusion of the argument is based on the premise that a certain demographic has a lower level of tooth decay even in the absence of dental care, therefore dental care is not necessary. The assumptions on which the argument is based, relies on no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing as it stands.

Firstly, it is readily assumed that it prudent to compare two different demographics, that is Nepal and US. It can be the case that two compared groups may have different diets. On one hand, the children indigenous to Nepal may have meals like meat, eggs veggies which are low in sugar. While, on the other hand, kids in US might be having too much of chocolates and sodas containing high sugar. This would explain the higher ratio of tooth decay among the kids in US suburbs.

Secondly, it the argument could have been more clearer if we had the actual numbers of the number of children studied. It can be the case that the survey included only hundred kids from Nepal, but from US, they surveyed ten thousand or more. In fact, it is not at all clear, if the line "little to no dental care" means that only 5 children among 1000 or 1 children among 10,000 received dental attention. The explanation to the discrepancy could be that "little to no dental care" means that children visited hospital at least once a year and had access to better dentists than the kids in suburbs.

Lastly, the argument fails to incorporate one of the key factor, the actual number of visits of a particular suburban area. It is said that the average visit is 1.25 times a year. It can be the case that among three suburbs, first one has the average of 4, second has 1 and the last one has 0. Additionally, the kids in suburban area with zero visits would be in more dire need of dental checkup than others. Hence, the term "average of 1.25" might be hiding a bigger story that not all the suburban areas have equal dental visits.

To sum up, without are more exhaustive study, which exposes more facts and figures about the two compared groups, the conclusion of the argument that dental care and tooth decay are not related is unsubstantial and is open to debate.