Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

With the increase in population, man is approbriating the forest at an alarming rate. Huge wilderness areas are cleared and destroyed for the purpose of - construction, procuring natural resources and agriculture. Is a stringent law is required by every nation to preserve remaining forests? The answer to this question hinges on the status of a nation's economy. For a country with unstable and poor economy it is not advisable, but for a devepoed nation with well to do economy, laws should be passed to stop distruction of wilderness ares.

Firstly, lets take the case of poor nations. In such countries, laws restricting access to resources for economic gain can have a detrimental effect on the economy. The primany goal of the nation is look after its citizens, so in this case the forest area should be used for boosting the economy by utilizing the natural resources and clearing the lands for agriculture.

Secondly, for developed nations, strict laws should be passed for the protection of forest. We are already withnissing the effects of global warming and the distruction of forests acts as a catalyst in preponing a catastropic event. Because in absence of such laws, greedy businesess with eradicate forests without hesitaction even though it can be for small economic gain. We fail to understand the work done by the forest to clear the air and in mainting water cycles. It would take trillions of dollors to develop a similar machine with purifies air and that it just one of the many roles played by forests. The benifits of preserving the forest outweight that of the small economic gains caused by their eradication.

Furthermore, it is possible to preserve and get economic benifits from the forests at the same time. Tourism provides a great solution where the country can benifit from keeping the forest in prestine condition and earn from the tourists who can come to appreciate the nature.

To sum up, we cannot propose a golden rule that applies to everyone, hence contries will well to do economy should pass stringent laws to protect the most priceless resource - wilderness areas. But for countries with no so well to do economies, they should use the forest to improve the condition of country and alliviate the living conditions of its citizens.