Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

While choosing between military and art, government should focus its budget on military.

Firstly, while it is true that we are not in war and we do not see any countries engaging in it in the near future, it cannot be said that there will be no war in the future. Furthermore, it is not always the case that war heralds its coming. War is based around the idea of surprise, therefore preparation is the key. Focusing the investments on the army, fortifies the citizens against any potential threat in the future.

Additionally, many of us readily assume that the term "war" automatically means that it is a dispute between two or more countries. But, this is not always the case. Many a times, groups like terrorist organisations, aim at disrupting the peace in a country. Therefore, it requires country to have strong defense against such threats, which is the job of military, fighting war against terrorism. Hence, investments in military are more important than in the field of arts.

Furthermore, art is a field unlike military which does not require training. Art is the extension of artists mind via mediums like painting, dance, poetry etc, this can only be polished to a certain extant via training. As we can see, art has no limit, music is art, film can be considered art, comedy is art, it an inexaustive list. Art emcompasses so many varieties that it becomes difficult to cater to each and every one of it form.

Moreover, the preservation and growth of art necessiates the need for military. It is absurd that the citizens could focus on creating art at times of constant threat. Soldiers ensure that they eradicate any potential of threat, the environment of peace is substantial for art. For example, all the famous artists, let be it Mozart in music, Charlie Chaplon in threatre

In conclusion, while given the option of funding either military or art, goverment should choose military. In essence military play a substantial role is ensuring that peace prevails in a country and inevetantly it allows for art to prosper, by creating suitable environment.