Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.Write a response in which you

Amongst the two opposing positions stated, I choose to believe in the statement that the government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to everyone. Having said so, arts is a contradictory field. While some may say arts is a field where any amount of pecuniary investment is equivalent to no investment. Many people are not abreast of the cultural aspects of art and this lack of knowledge leads to people losing interest in the field of arts.

Firstly, receiving monetary aid from the government plays a crucial role. Elaborating on the point, taking the current scenario, arts is obscure to a majority of the population. These philistines may probably question the integrity of the arts when they see the government funding. Does government funding violate the integrity? Of course, not. For example, government makes a huge amount of investment in the field of technology which can help us better understand how there is an advancement in technology at a high rate.

Secondly, when the government decides to fund arts, the artists will be encouraged to produce more splendid works to get the attention of people. This implies that the idea of a monetary benefit after many hours of arduous effort will motivate the artists. In addition to government funding, when the former allots a certain amount to the display of arts, it reaches a greater audience and justifies the fact that it will be available to more people. Arts run the gamut, ranging from theatre to paintings, literary arts to street plays.

Is there a direct relationship between the funding and the decline of the integrity of arts?Investing in it consolidates the integrity rather than dividing the integrity. People tend to disregard something when they have a scanty knowledge and this happens to be prevalent in the field of arts. The absence of knowledge is indirectly linked to the scarcity of funding from the government. Also, many firmly believe that when the government acknowledges a field by providing monetary resources, a field is not stagnant anymore and is on the verge of flourishment.

In conclusion, before the field of arts becomes extinct in the eyes of the people, steps need to be taken to shift it from a stage of stalement to a state of progress.