Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

The assertion that a society should make efforts to save endangered species only if human activities is the cause behind the extinction, is certainly debatable. While some might argue that, when the cause for extinction includes human activities, efforts must be taken to save such species at a risk of extinction, I disagree with this assertion.

First of all, the flora and fauna of a nation are indeed indicative of the biological wealth of a nation. Preserving fauna, which represent the animals living in an environment is of crucial importance. Indeed, utmost care needs to be taken to save endangered species, regardless of the reasons behind their extinctions. Having a biased opinion to save a species based on a deciding factor like human intrusion is not a viable option, and this could potentially cause an imbalance in the biological ecosystem.

An astounding example is the situation of polar bears, which are on the verge of extinction due to global warming conditions prevalent since a decade. According to the claim mentioned above, no efforts are needed to save the polar bears because the potential extinction of these species is not a result of human activities. Would a society not take any necessary efforts to save a endangered species solely based on the fact that humans had nothing to do with the extinction? In fact, if one carefully analyses the situation, global warming is a result of the pernicious actions taken by mankind like deforestation, pollution and many other factors. Whether or not humans have a role to play in the extinction of a species, it is of paramount importance to take actions to save these endangered species.

Additionally, mankind may not realize the importance of a balance brought about by each and every organism. If the society doesn't take this situation seriously, one might witness a huge chaos in the near future where every organism is competing for the natural resources like food, water and shelter. For example, the decline in the sea otter population saw an increase in the sea urchin population which indirectly increased the pressure on the kelp forests, a primary source of food for the urchins. Despite the fact that man wasn't involved in this entire process, one can't sit back and watch an imbalance in an ecosystem. Actions must be taken to curtail the risks on these endangered species. If no actions are taken, it won't take long for the society to realize that an endangered species is extinct today.

Hence, the society should not be biased in deciding when efforts must be taken to save the fauna and, must take stringent actions to save endangered species, irrespective of the cause of the extinction. The reasons could range from global warming to human activities, deforestation to encroachment contribute to putting many species at the risk of extinction. The cause behind extinction doesn't matter but efforts must be taken to save these endangered species.