According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Groveton college believes that on adopting honor code it has been able to reduce cheating to a great extent. At the first glance it seems quite convincing but on close scrutiny, it can be observed that many granular details had been neglected and overlooked.

Firstly, this system is totally dependent on the students. Students can easily take advantage of the system and score well. This would result in good academic performance and also validate low cheating rates. Unless and until some kind of check is placed, the system is not devoid of loopholes and may serve as a curse rather as a boon.

Secondly, there is no mention of batch size for each year. Under the previous system if there were a hundred students and under the honor code, if there are seventy students, then there is apparently a rise in cheating practices. Thus the argument stands vague.

Thirdly, even if Groveton college was successful in reducing cheating practices, it may not be same for all other colleges. Students' mentality plays an important role in the success of this system.

Overall quite a few points need to be analyzed at a molecular level and pieces of evidence should be provided to support the same. Doing such would strengthen the argument.