In surveys Mason City rank watersports among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the passage, it assumes that as long as the Mason River is cleaned, and citizens will be willing to participate in water sports. Hence, in order to satisfy and boost citizens’ satisfaction, the city hall should consider allocating budget to riverside leisure facilities. At first glance, it looks reasonable, but it has many flaws after carefully dwelling on.

To begin with, it mentioned that Mason City made a poll that water sports are residents’ favorite recreational activities. Nevertheless, what’s the number of the sample they obtain, and what’s the percentage of the citizens that accounts for the population of the city? In addition, the article supposes that the only reason why residents in city don’t enjoy water sports is river’s water and the river’s smell. However, it doesn’t provide readers with any reliable survey that authorities make to prove that it’s actually the only one of the cause. Consequently, even though the plan indeed successfully improve the quality of the water and the smell disappears soon, it’s not guaranteed that there will be many people being eager to exercise along the riverside.

On the other hand, it assumes that once the government allocates the more percentage of budget to riverside leisure facilities, then it will satisfy the demand for users along the riverside. It’s possible that there truly are more citizens going to exercise, but be cautious that one of the sports they enjoy is fishing. It’s also likely that overfishing may pose part of their lives to the threat. At that time, it needs a huge amount of money to save these creatures. Still, we have no valid evidence to show that facilities will positively improve the using situations for the citizens fond of swimming, boating and fishing.

To sum up, whether Mason City government should spend more money on riverside recreational facilities still leaves multifaceted problems to consider. It had better conduct more surveys and evaluate the pros and cons prudently before making a decision.