The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, a vice president suggest the company should shorten each of shift by one hour to ensure that employees can get adequate amounts of sleep, considered a significant factor of on-the-job accidents.

It assumes that the number of on-the-job accidents in Quiot Manufacturing is above average and it’s in a bad working conditions. However, it’s likely that Panoply Industries plant occurred 10 cases last year, and Quiot had 13 times. Maybe 10 and 13 are both well below the average among all the plants in a nation. On the contrary, it’s common that there are high seasons and low seasons in every occupation, and it also may affect the number. It’s also likely that the city faced the recession, so the shipments were continually low. In this situation, 10 and 13 weren’t rather ideal for it didn’t have many chances of working. Hence, it had better specify the exact number in the memo rather than the percentage.

It use the experts’ research to support its argument, but it’s under the assumption that experts are professional at the field and don’t make any mistakes during the analysis. Nevertheless, we don’t know what the backgrounds of experts are, it’s possible they’re graduated students, designated to analyze by their professors. Once they tend to be idle only want to finish the task rather than pay much attention to it, then it is obvious the result may be inaccurate. In this situation, the company is risk adopting a wrong report even influence its policy profoundly.

It also hypothesizes that the definition of on-the-job accidents is identical when comparing two companies. It’s likely that Quiot regulates every minor and major injuries to the accidents, while Panoply considers injuries such as fracture, being more serious. If the two companies don’t use the same definition, then the number isn’t comparable. On the other hand, the probability of accident occurrence isn’t constant so it’s not a good idea only collecting a period of data.

The vice president proposes that the company should shorten the shift by one hour similar with Panoply. He assumes that employees would all exploit an hour to sleep, rather than exercise or play video games, which may make them more tired. What’s more, it’s also possible that there are some employees living far away from the factory, while employees working in Panoply has their own dorms. Then, they indeed can make a good use of an hour instead of commuting.

To sum up, before deciding to shorten the shift by on hour, it still needs lots of careful considerations.