The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing."During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing proposes a new policy hoping to lower the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and improve productivity in the meantime by shortening work shift. The idea seems plausible at the first glance, yet some problematic assumptions needed to be addressed to make the point more solid.

The men mentions 30 percent more on-the-job accidents happened at Panoply since their work shifts are less than Quiot’s. However, this viewpoint is questionable because more detailed numbers and information should be provided. Even if we have known Panoply has 30 percent more accidents happened during the work, we still need the exact number to prove the credibility. If Panopy only has ten employee and they got three people injured during the work, it is less persuadable for Quiot, a company with more than 1 million employees to learn a lesson from a such company with the different size. Besides, maybe Panopy is specialized in a different manufacturing area that needs more complicated working process. For example, employees in semiconductor industry will definitely have higher risk of on-the-job accidents compared to car manufacturing, according to Economics magazine. Even if Panoply and Quiot are in the same industry, maybe the equipments at Panoply are more outdated and that's why they have more accidents.

The vice president believe that shortening the work shifts can lead to better productivity and less fatigue on work. Nonetheless, we need to look into the assumption deeply in order to make the perfect decision. Even if worker at Quiot have less work hours, it might actually cause more fatigue at the same time. As employees have more free time between the shifts, some people may like to play games, watch TV shows to be relax. The more entertainment activities they are involved, the more tiredness they will have. The spokesmen should not assume more leisure time equals to more energies among worker unless he could be 100 percent sure all of employee will take a rest between the shifts. Moreover, when the vice president cuts the one hour in each shift and keeps the daily KPI the same, it means every worker needs to maximize they dedication on the work or they cannot fulfill the daily goal. Thus maybe more and more workers will be under the pressure, and the failure rates on job might get higher. This is definitely not what the company expects.

To sum it up, a memo written by the vice president appears to be sound, yet the vice president should provide more credentials to support the unsubstantiated points mentioned in the article.