The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing."During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing recommends that Quiot Manufacturing should reduce each of three work shifts by one hour can enable workers more sleep and then diminish work accidents. The assumption behind the argument is that Quiot Manufacturing and Panoply Industries plant has comparisons and experts’ saying is persuasive to make Quiot change significantly. Unfortunately, these assumptions might be void of justification, thereby weakening the argument and the conclusion.

Firstly, the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing assumes Quiot Manufacturing has more on-the-job accidents than at Panoply Industries because there is one hours shorter than theirs. If changing into one hour shorter work shifts can considerably reduce the risk of more accidents on jobs. However, the vice president should measure the similarities and disparities between both of two industries. For example, Quiot Manufacturing is a metal processing or mineral-mining company, but Panoply is a clothing-producing company. In that case, the risk of more accidents in Quiot are possibly higher than Panoply. Given both of them are the same, Quiot is a larger-scale company with 100,000 workers but Panoply with 1,000, meaning that they have naturally more accidents in Quiot Manufacturing. If the assumption proves unjustified, shortening one hours in every three work shifts is not an efficacious action for Quiot Manufacturing.

Secondly, the second assumption is that experts’ words are closely related to the situation in Quiot. Therefore, the vice president considers sleep deprivation and fatigue is the most serious reason of more accidents in Quito Manufacturing. Examining the authoritativeness and representativeness of experts is the priority of Quiot. Firstly, how many experts say the words? Are they a multitude of experts in Manufacturing industry? If only several experts say but a large number of experts refute the analysis of those experts, it might be incredible to indicate that they should reduce work shift time. When some manufacturing plants might have severe issue of on-the-job accidents owing to sleep deprivation, their delivered opinion might be biased and precautious. As a matter of fact, this is not the issue of Quiot which should address when facing more accidents in the workplace.

Speculating that Quiot and Panoply are the similar plant manufacturings and experts’ presumption is the situation quiot is confronting, the assumption that reduction of one hour shorter work shift can reduce on-the-job accidents should be prudently examined. Quiot might make a survey to investigate how their workers utilize the after-work times with one more hour. They might sing Karaoke with imitate friends or take care of children, as well as surfing the internet, which might squander time with more recreation instead of rest. More exhaustion with less sleep time would have impact on their works with inattentiveness along with more accidents during working time. Therefore, the vice president should give another thought on how to warrant workers to invest one more resting hour in sleeping.

To conclude it, the vice president tends to significantly reduce accidents of jobs, which is a good advice. However, if the assumptions discussed aforementioned are not assessed with more contemplation, the final suggestion and the whole argument are not convincing to readers.