The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

From the memorandum from a manager, she indicates that it’s a better way for the radio station to operate by changing rock music from a news and talk format. At a first glance, the infer looks reasonable, but it might make some logical flaws after carefully analyzing her explanation.

To begin with, the memo said that the decline still occurs even though there are more and more retired moving into the city, which logically may augment the number of listeners. However, this awful phenomenon might not be solved by altering the type of show since it’s possible that there are other new radio stations starting up their business, which aim to increasing listeners. What’s more, they have innovative arrangement and invite many famous entertainers and politicians to join them. Hence, it’s also likely that the main reason for the thorny situation isn’t the format of the show instead of the originality.

On the other hand, it mentioned that a continuing decline in local sales of physical music suggests limited interest in music. It doesn’t show any absolute positive correlation between the music interest and the amount of recorded albums sold out, let alone it exists the causation. Currently, the technology and the Internet improves rapidly over our imagination, and it’s obviously consumers have various access to the music through platforms online. Consequently, it had better conduct a poll about the preference about all the citizens before removing the rock music sector from their broadcasting list.

In addition, the manager recommends that WWAC station adopting a news and talking format, being more popular with the area they are located in. Nevertheless, is there any concrete evidence to convince the supervisor to believe the trend? If not, how would they approve the plan and go on the right path to raise the listening rate? On the contrary, if the complete and verified questionnaire shows that it indeed has increasingly growing number of the listeners have a preference to talk and news format, then it’s not necessary the radio station can attract those who have been listening to other stations to WWAC. It’s also risky to lose the original listeners, which may be a bigger hole than now.

To sum up, the manager of the radio station still needs to provide more accurate number and survey for the supervisor to change the format of the show.